Amberley Press 2016

Amberley Press 2016

Crowood Press 2015

Crowood Press 2015

The only history written about the GWR main line between Steventon and Wootton Bassett.

VWH back

GW Last Year

A month by month account of the doings of the GWR in 1947. 100% drawn from GWR sources. Nistory Press. 2014

Last Year back

S'man's Morn

Amberley Press. 2011

S'man Twilight

Amberley Press 2011

S'man's Nightmare

Amberley Press 2011


Amberley Press 2010.

The only book published on this subject.

Faringdon back


Ian Allan 2010.

The only book giving a selection of I.K Brunel’s business and personal letters.

Intemprate back


Ian Allan 2009.

A story of privatised irresponsibility and incompetence.

Greatest back

Chrisatian Wolmar recognises a railwayman’s anger.


Ian Allan 2003.

This is paperback. 2nd ed. of the book containing the outrageous story of the Ladbroke Grove disaster. All the accounts of accidents drawn entirely from official reports/enquiries.


Ian Allan 2009.

The biography of a remarkable civil engineering/railway contractor. Drawn from family papers and contemporary sources. Was he a ‘Robin Hood’ or a rogue?


Ian Allan 2006. The true story of an unusual railway engineer. Drawn almost entirely from Brunel’s own papers

IKB engineer